Program

The Environment and Ecology in Islamic Art and Culture is online on Zoom this year.  For more information about each presentation, visit our Presentations page.  Please note that the schedule below is given in Eastern Standard Time in the US (EST) and Arabian Standard Time in Doha (AST), that all presentations will be delivered live, and that there will be an opportunity for audience questions and conversation following each presentation.    

Monday, November 8 / 10am – 11:30am EST / 6pm – 7:30pm AST

Welcome Remarks, Co-Chairs of the 9th Biennial Hamad bin Khalifa Symposium on Islamic Art

Keynote Address: Nasser Rabbat, Aga Khan Professor and Director of the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture at MIT, The Quest for Thermal Delight.

Audience questions and moderated conversation to follow.

Tuesday, November 9 / 10am – 1:30pm EST / 6pm – 7:30 pm AST

10 – 11:05am EST / 6 – 7:05pm AST

Rebecca Zorach, Mary Jane Crowe Professor in Art and Art History, Northwestern University.  Presentation title:
A luminous golden spirit owns us”: Legal Sculpting and the Rights of Nature.  Presentation followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.   

10-MINUTE BREAK

11:15am – 12:15pm EST / 7:15 – 8:15pm AST

Farid Esmaeil, Founding Partner and Principal Architect, X Architects.  Presentation title: Context as a ‘Form’ Generator.  Presentation followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.    

10-MINUTE BREAK

12:30 – 1:30pm EST / 8:30 – 8:30pm AST

T.J. Demos, Professor in the Department of the History of Art and Visual Culture, University of California, Santa Cruz.  Presentation title: Climate Justice Now! Art and Environment in the Middle EastPresentation followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.

Wednesday, November 10/ 10am – 12:40pm EST / 6pm – 8:40 pm AST

10 – 11:05am EST / 6 – 7:05pm AST

D. Fairchild Ruggles, Debra Mitchell Endowed Chair in Landscape Architecture, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.  Presentation title: Cultivars and Calamities in al-Andalus: On Nature and Human Will.  Presentation followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.

10-MINUTE BREAK

11:15am – 12:40pm EST / 7:15 – 8:40pm AST

Panel presentations followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.  

Yusen Yu, Junior Research Fellow in Comparative Aesthetics and Art History, Corpus Christi College, Oxford University.  Presentation title: Flora and Fauna in Timurid Painting

Stephane Pradines, Professor of Islamic Art and Architecture, Aga Khan University Institute for the Study of Muslim Civilisations (AKU-ISMC), London.  Presentation title: Coral Mosques and Indian Ocean Maritime Resources, from the Maldives to the Swahili Coast

Alexander Brey, Assistant Professor in the Department of Art, Wellesley College.  Presentation title: Gushing Pools and Verdant Meadows: Rural Estates and the Reshaping of Umayyad Rural Landscapes.

Thursday, November 11 /10am – 12:40pm EST / 6pm – 8:40 pm AST

10 –  11:05am EST / 6 – 7:05pm AST

Anna M. Gade, Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Education in the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, University of Wisconsin. Presentation title: Muslim Arts and Material Ethics. Presentation followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.   

10-MINUTE BREAK

11:15am – 12:40pm EST / 7:15 – 8:40pm AST

Panel presentations followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.

Nada Shabout, Regent Professor of Art History and Coordinator of the Contemporary Arab and Muslim Cultural Studies Initiative (CAMCSI), University of North Texas.  Presentation title:  A Threatened Imaginary: Environmental Interventions in Iraqi Art.

Huma Gupta, Junior Research Fellow, Crown Center for Middle East Studies, Brandeis University.  Presentation title: Visualizing Maʻdan in Mayzara: The Hidden History of Urban ‘Wetlands’ in Baghdad.

Rachel Winter, PhD Candidate, University of California, Santa Barbara.  Presentation title: Aestheticizing the Ecologies of the Syrian Refugee Crisis.

Friday, November 12/ 10am – 1pm EST / 6pm – 9pm AST

10 – 11:05am EST / 6 – 7:05pm AST

Amanda Boetzkes, Professor of Contemporary Art History and Theory, University of Guelph.  Presentation title: Behind the Sun: The Theater of Oil ExpenditurePresentation followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.     

10-MINUTE BREAK

11:15am – 1pm EST / 7:15 – 9pm AST 

Panel presentations followed by audience questions and moderated conversation.

Elizabeth Rauh, Assistant Professor of Modern Art and Visual Cultures, American University in Cairo.  Presentation title: Iridescent Modernism: The Troubling Artistic Legacy of Pearl Diving in the Persian Gulf.

Pamela Karimi, Associate Professor, Art Education, Art History and Media Studies, University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth. Presentation title: Survival by Design: Oil Crisis, the Middle East, and the US Quest for Lunar Settlements.

Michelle Apotsos, Associate Professor of Art, Williams College. Presentation title: The Earth is a Masjid”: Tanzania’s First Eco-Mosque as Environmental Advocate.

Nisa Ari, Beinecke Postdoctoral Fellow,  Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts, National Gallery of Art.  Presentation title: Wasteland/Promise land/Homeland: Painting “Flora Palaestina” Before the Nakba.

Monday, November 15/ 8am – 9:15am EST / 4pm – 5:15pm AST

Roundtable Conversation with the artists Tarek Al-Ghoussein and Camille Zakharia, moderated by Jochen Sokoly, Associate Professor of Islamic Art, VCUarts Qatar.  Their work is the subject of an exhibition at VCUarts Qatar titled Landscapes of Arabia: Camille Zakhariya and Tarek Al-Ghoussein, curated by Jochen Sokoly.